Thursday, June 20, 2024
HomeOmahaOmaha Steaks Reviews Consumer Reports

Omaha Steaks Reviews Consumer Reports

- Advertisment -

What Is Omaha Steaks

10 Mail-Order Steaks Ranked From Worst To Best

Omaha Steaks is among the oldest companies in the full meat delivery business, offering everything from beef, pork, bacon, seafood, steaks, and poultry, to great desserts and sides, such as grilled potatoes and other fresh vegetables.

They have been around for a whopping total of 166 years, with humble beginnings as a local butcher shop in a city between Nebraska and Iowa.

Interestingly, their first prime steaks in 1952 arrived via mail order.

But we’ve come a long way since shipping food via mail order, so now theyre part of the country’s best and largest online meat delivery shops.

Butcherbox Vs Omaha Steaks: Price & Value

We all have different budgets, and spending $50 on a single steak may be too much for you on a regular basis, but you want the option for a special occasion. Price and value are two very different things. Price is the flat-out cost, and the value in the example here would be the option to buy for a special day.

In this section of our ButcherBox vs Omaha Steaks review, Ill take a look at both. Kicking things off with ButcherBox, youll find a few different prices for a range of its boxes below:

  • Custom Box: 9-14 lbs of meat $159/month
  • Curated Box: 8.5-11 lbs of meat: $137/month

So lets take a look at its value. The ethics of the company come into play here, and so do perks like free meat and shipping, but Id say its the morals behind this service that make it truly valuable.

Thats the main thing customers seem to appreciate about it most, so even before you ever take a bit of steak, the value of ButcherBox is going to be high. Add on a high-quality product, delicious taste and variety of meat, and a convenient subscription, and you have yourself a winning combination.

So how about Omaha Steaks? In our wanderings, I found that buyers appreciate the quality and variety that the brand has to offer. Since the brand has so much to offer, heres a roundup of a few different products and their prices:

  • The Perfect Gift: 7 items, about 7 lbs of meat plus sides and desserts $100
  • Steakhouse Classics: about 5 lbs of meat plus sides and desserts $143

Manager Laura Not Retaining Customers

Away for Easter weekend and had a power outage. Lost 60% of my order. Omaha Steaks wouldn’t replace. Took me 3 calls and a conversation with a manager. I was told to call my homeowners insurance for the money. Really sad customer service. The order was for my husbands birthday and he was depressed. Thank you manager Laura for NOT doing the right thing, even after I asked for company credit and not the money. I plan on placing an order with Kansas City Steaks.

Date of experience:April 26, 2022

Recommended Reading: What Is The Best Steak Rub

What Plans Does Butcherbox Vs Omaha Steaks Offer

In a delivery service, everyone is looking for something different, but typically flexibility is important as well as the option to cancel. For me, I prefer a good balance of both. I like the ability to select my own options but also the assurance I can easily change my mind.

  • ButcherBox offers monthly and bimonthly plans, with the option to pause delivery for up to half a year, as well to cancel at any time before the next invoice, though they ask you to email rather than directly call.
  • Omaha Steaks is a delivery service, but does not specialize in subscriptions. Their model is instead by individual orders. In that sense, ButcherBox is the true subscription service, and a bit more convenient.

Butcherbox Mixed Box Vs Omaha Steaks The Perfect Gift Review:

The Best Chicken Breast To Buy of 2022: Consumer Reviews and Reports

Variety is the spice of life. If you love mixing things up, this ButcherBox vs Omaha Steaks review found that both have an intriguing selection to appease your appetite.

With theButcherBox Mixed Box, youll get one of each of the proteins the brand offers. Enjoying 100% grass-fed beef, free-range organic chicken, cage-free pork, and wild-caught seafood, youll get the best of all worlds.

This box includes 8.5-11 lbs of meat and seafood. Some weeks you may get lobster tails with your beef and pork, and another week you may get a mix with chicken. Boxes will vary by region, but you can count on a total of $137/month and high-quality choices.

ButcherBox Mixed Box

  • Wild-caught seafood

My oh my, the Omaha Steaks The Perfect Gift has quite the selection. Its packed with luxurious, steakhouse favorites including:

  • Bacon-Wrapped Filet Mignon
  • Boneless Chicken Breasts
  • Gourmet Jumbo Franks
  • Omaha Steaks Burgers
  • Individual Scalloped Potatoes
  • Caramel Apple Tartlets
  • Signature Seasoning

Youll have a quick and easy gourmet meal whenever the mood strikes. Flash frozen and vacuum packed, you can keep this one for a special occasion or get it cooking as soon as it arrives. And right now, this set is only $100but its a $238 value.

Omaha Steaks The Perfect Gift

  • Shipped for free
  • Can pay with 4 interest-free installments
  • Includes ready to cook options
  • Comes with seasoning

Don’t Miss: Reverse Seared Ny Strip Steak

What Is So Special About Omaha Steaks

Omaha Steaks takes pride in their beef, which is sourced straight from Nebraska. Since the founding family began as a butcher shop in Omaha, their products remain rooted in the heartland. As the brand states, This is the heart of beef country, and we love to share that quality with the rest of the country.

The fifth-generation family owner, Bruce Simon, continues to oversee all the beef procurement, choosing each piece by hand. Consumers can trace their food back to grass-fed and grain-finished cattle. The unique flavour of Midwestern beef shines through, melting sweetly on your tongue.

Recently, Omaha Steaks also added a signature crossbred Wagyu to their menu. The brand prepares their beef in special waysfor example, by aging it for at least 21 days, which results in a more tender steak.

After the meat is carved, it is flash-frozen to ensure that water doesnt have time to expand, preserving the ideal flavour, tenderness, and juiciness.

Then, each piece of steak is individually vacuum-sealed . This Omaha Steaks review believes that the brands hundred years of experience is clear as day.

Like Most Things But The Lasagna Is Awful

We’ve ordered lots of their products over the years and were always happy. Then we said yes to a free pan of their lasagna. Oh dear. It’s like a tomato soup ground beef casserole with cheese to bind it together. Runny and no discernible seasoning. I’ve learned my lesson. Order anything else.

Date of experience:April 11, 2022

You May Like: What To Use To Marinate Steak

If You Ever Consider Purchasing Omaha Don’t

If you ever consider purchasing Omaha Steaks products for yourself, or as a gift for another…please don’t. Absolute worst meat products EVER. I’ve tried them several times and have always been disappointed. Over priced, horrible quality meats. You can do much better. Just had salmon and it was full of bones and tasted like a dirty sock. Steaks are gristle-filled and tough, chicken is small and tasteless, sides they “gift” you are not worthy of the energy it takes to cook them. Just don’t.

Date of experience:March 01, 2021

What The Food From Omaha Steaks Is Like

Butcher’s Guide: What are Butcher’s Cut Steaks?

Insider Reviews contributor Steven John tried out a combo called The Best of Omaha Steaks , which came with two four-ounce filet mignons, two four-ounce top sirloins, four pork chops, four jumbo franks, four apple tarts, and a seasoning packet for the meats.

He says, “One night, when my brother and his wife and kids were visiting, I cooked up all the steaks and chops, serving three adults and three kids . So six people ate, and I still had the hot dogs and tarts for another time. Assuming those would create the centerpiece of another meal for four, we’re talking about 10 servings of food for $60, or $6 a person. Not bad at all.”

Other members of the Insider Reviews team have tried a variety of meat, sides, and desserts from the company. We loved the taste, not to mention the excuse to indulge in dishes like bacon-wrapped sirloin, crispy steakhouse hash browns, and red velvet cake.

Some of the best deals on the site currently are the Stock-Up Packages and Free Shipping Combos, which will help you get all the protein and sides you need to feed your house for a while â all delivered straight to your door.

Also Check: Where Can I Buy Steak In Bulk

What Could Be Improved

Mentioned earlier was the custom butcher services, which is a very cool concept. Wed like to see this improved as its an offering that could really be useful.

When clicking that option on their website, youre only prompted to submit your phone number and email for someone to call you and ask what youre looking for. In our experience, the person who called, while extremely nice, was unfamiliar with what we were trying to order.

In our case it was sirloin cap, or Picanha as its often referred to. It seems if there were a small dialog box to fill in what was being requested that some research could be done ahead of time, prior to a representative calling. It would just make the process more efficient. After a phone call and few emails we were able to sort out the sirloin cap and what was delivered was as requested, it just took a bit longer than we would have liked to place the order.

Next, wed like to see a bit more flexibility on the order quantities. Weve found in most cases, the minimum ordering quantity for an item is four. Some items allow for a quantity of two and wed love to see that expanded to all items.

Does Omaha Steak Have Quality Steaks

Per our review and according to testimonies, most people have nothing negative to say as their steak cut standard is premium.

During our Omaha Steaks review, we found the filet mignon cut to get particularly tender and the gourmet franks tasty.

The taste is amazing, and the fact that you always receive a good portion of the cut when you buy made it all the more favorable.

You’re going to get a word that Omaha Steak meat delivery service prices tend to get expensive, but let’s be real – filet mignon, Kobe beef, Kurobuta pork, picanha, teres major, and Wagyu beef tend to cost a lot of money, anyway.

Until you get into the larger packages or the juiciest cuts of meat, ordering food from them isn’t all that expensive often times than getting your purchases from the local store.

In fact, the selection and quality are far better than what most supermarkets or meat place near your area would offer.

However, something you’ve got to note is that cattle are grain-finished, so they are not really 100% grass fed beef nor USDA prime beef.

Also Check: Simply Organic Grilling Seasons Steak

Requiring A Minimum Purchase Of $99

My husband and I got a gift certificate for $60 for Christmas. We finally found something we could get for that for that amount, already knowing we would have to pay for shipping. Fine. But when we tried to check out, we were given an error that we cannot buy less than $99. So in effect, the $60 gift certificate they sold our Mother is a FRAUD and USELESS. We have told her to no longer give us a gift certificate for this awful overpriced company. Its completely ridiculous to mandate a customer spends a minimum to do business with them. It doesnt make sense. I am willing to pay the shipping…WOW.

Desired outcome: Id like to place my order as it stands

The Omaha Steaks Inventory Has Expanded Beyond Just Beef Products

Omaha Steaks Gift Card Giveaway

The name “Omaha Steaks” is, admittedly, quite a bit misleading. While beef might be what comes to mind when you first hear the company’s name, you might be surprised to find that you can actually get a much wider range of specialty products. In the 1960s, Omaha Steaks began expanding its catalog from only offering steaks to also include premium cuts of pork, poultry, and seafood. Since then, they’ve added an even more extensive range of products to the menu, as the company’s delivery services have become much more widespread.

While steaks are still the prime cut of meat at Omaha Steaks, you can actually purchase a huge range of products besides their signature beef as well from Polish-style kielbasa to hearty wild halibut fillets. They’ve even got an expansive set of accoutrements to serve alongside the main course, including charcuteries and potato-based side dishes, as well as some decadent wines. Perfect for your next steak dinner. Or your next kielbasa dinner. Or your next halibut dinner.

Recommended Reading: Daniels Steak And Chop Aruba

Try Omaha Steaks Before You Send

We used to send Omaha Steaks to show our thanks & appreciation to those we care about. After years of sending Omaha Steak Gift Boxes, we decided to send one to ourselves. After sampling Omaha Steaks for ourselves, we never sent another Omaha Steak Gift box to anyone else.

Date of experience:July 04, 2022

Is Omaha Steaks Worth It

Is Omaha Steaks worth the money? We found an assortment of conflicting customer feedback. While there are plenty of complaints about high-price for low-quality food, there are also loyal customers who continue to swear by the established company.

It is a definite fact that Omaha Steaks has years and years of experience, pulling through for over 100 years. They also have a large range of items available on their website.

For fine dining, their prices are cheaper. But, if the quality is subpar, then the steep bill is not worth it. Shipping is also exorbitant, and especially inaccessible if you live outside the continental U.S., but buyers can always keep an eye out for an Omaha Steaks sale.

Ultimately, if you are feeling adventurous and want to indulge in steaks, then Omaha Steaks may be for you! Just make sure to double-check the fine print with costs and shipping before you order.

  • 50% off Omaha Steaks free shipping items and packages
  • $25 off your order of $159 or more when you join their email list
  • A TV offer of 12 free burgers when you purchase specific Fathers Day bundles

Since shipping is expensive, those complimentary delivery deals are particularly nice! While there are no Omaha Steaks coupon codes at this time, there are many discounts applied right to your order at checkout.

Recommended Reading: Ricardo Steak House Menu Prices

After 20 Years We Will No Longer Be

After 20 years we will no longer be doing business with Omaha Steaks. Consistent delivery problems are inexcusable and for which their customer service takes no ownership – just excuses. And, the orders we largely place are only 27 miles from their warehouse to the destination. This has been a trend for the past 2 years for which there is no excuse.

Date of experience:March 17, 2022

Final Verdict: I Would Choose Butcherbox Over Omaha Steaks

Omaha Steaks

Bottom Line: ButcherBox, despite its reputation for high prices, has an edge over Omaha Steaks for the best value. Omaha Steaks does not provide information on sourcing, does not have as high of standards, and is not far cheaper as one might imagine. In addition, what should be the biggest benefit for Omaha Steaksthat is, flavor, is in fact not delivered.

The one area that Omaha Steaks does have an edge over ButcherBox is with its return policy. ButcherBox means risking $130-$150, and there is discrepancy in experiences when it comes to delivery and customer service. So proceed with caution.

Where to Buy: You can order from ButcherBox here, though as of late March 2020, they do have a waiting list.

Alternatives: Still looking for another meat delivery or meat subscription option? Check out recommendations for best organic meat delivery .

You can also read our more specific ButcherBox Alternative recommendations.

Read Also: Philly Cheese Steak Hot Pocket Nutrition Facts

I Was So Excited To See The 50% Off

I was so excited to see the 50% off sale, I ordered over 200 dollars worth. We have tried 4 of the products so far and each of them were awful. I had tried their steaks before and they were ok but over priced, so this time I went for other products…Filet mignon bites, breakfast sausages, chicken fried steaks, wieners in a blanket…thats what we tried this weekend…never again will I purchase from them!!!

Date of experience:September 23, 2022

How Does It Taste

Omaha Steaks wins on remarkable deliciousness. The chicken, though chewy enough to notice, didn’t suffer outright toughness or rubberiness its fresh taste and utter juiciness defied its vacuum packaging. And the salmon needs nothing more than salt and searing to wow we set out a chimichurri sauce with our fish, then utterly forgot to use it even once, lost in the perfect balance of fattiness and crisped muscle. And the tenderloin was, even by the standards of its name, like a mouthful of buttery velvet. Naysayers that think a tenderloin lacks flavor should give Omaha Steaks a try if they want to change their tune.

Order the meatballs, which defy all expectations. Their belying grey appearance and all-beef protein buck the rules for a great Italian meatball, but the flavor is beyond compare with supermarkets. It’s difficult to describe how well the taste develops as you hold a bite in your mouth. Maybe it’s the whey rather than milk used, giving them a cultured richness.

The French-sourced scalloped potatoes were delicious but challenging to justify at the size and price unless you hate all but the easiest cooking. Make your own yummy domestic taters.

Finally: Save the steak seasoning for lesser dinners. It’s good but adds little to the meat that’s already so tasty, and it even distracts. Salting and adding your herb of choice are all that are required to savor this flavor.

Don’t Miss: What Wine Goes With Steak

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -